Rio Sarapiqui Rafting Trips Compared: Float Vs Upper Sections
The Rio Sarapiqui serves two different rafting products from the same rain-fed channel: a lower Class II-III float that families book by the vanload, and an upper Jungle Run of Class III-IV whitewater that demands real paddling. Here is how the trips compare on class, duration, price, departure point and who each one actually suits.
Short answer
The Sarapiqui splits into a Class II-III family float from about $60 per person for 3 hours, and Class III-IV whitewater trips from $85 to $123 per person lasting 3 to 8 hours. The float suits ages 8 and up by national norm; the upper run is legally open from 12. Operators set their own, often higher, minimums, so check the listing.
The Rio Sarapiqui is one river carrying two very different products. The lower stretch runs gentler water where operators run family floats, while the upper Jungle Run is the section that made the river's name among whitewater paddlers. Because the Sarapiqui is rain-fed and undammed, the character of both sections shifts with the season: operators report Class II-III water in the drier months and up to Class III or IV after heavy rain. This guide compares the trip types side by side so a reader can match a listing to their group in one pass.
We compared the 31 listings this site carries, and the differences that matter are not subtle. Price, total trip duration, departure city and minimum age all vary more between listings than between operators. The comparison below draws only on what each listing states, so every figure here comes straight from the roster rather than from marketing copy.

What Sections Does The Rio Sarapiqui Offer For Rafting?
The Rio Sarapiqui offers three distinct on-water options: an upper-to-mid run that operators rate Class II-III at lower dry-season flows and Class III when the water rises, a Jungle Run section reported at Class III-IV in the dry season and up to Class IV in high water, and gentle wildlife safari floats with no whitewater claim at all. Your choice of section shapes the day more than your choice of operator.
The section split comes from operator descriptions rather than any official government classification. Verified reporting on the river's sections describes the upper run as the family-friendly stretch and the Jungle Run as the more demanding water, and that matches how the listings on this site are structured: 15 Class II-III rafting listings, 10 Class III-IV listings, 4 wildlife floats and 2 combos.
One point worth knowing that rarely appears on a first page of search results: under Law No. 10152 of 2022, the main channel and banks of the Sarapiqui carry a 25-year renewable environmental safeguard that prohibits new hydroelectric projects and new mining extraction concessions. That undammed status is why the river's rapid class genuinely moves with rainfall, and why operators cancel or reroute trips in high water rather than running them regardless. No operator can promise you a rapid class on a given day.
| Product type | Listings on this site | Typical rapid class | Typical total duration | Entry price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Class II-III family rafting | 15 | Class II-III, rising to III in high water | 2.5 to 10 hours | from $60 per person |
| Class III-IV whitewater | 10 | Class III-IV, up to IV in high water | 3 to 8 hours | from $85 per person |
| Wildlife safari floats | 4 | Flat water, no whitewater claim | 3 to 8 hours | from $90 per person |
| Rafting combos | 2 | Class II-III or III plus zipline or lodging | 9 hours to 3 days | from $335 per group |
The two rafting categories overlap on price more than most readers expect: the cheapest Class III-IV listing starts at the same $85 per person as several family trips. What separates them is paddling demand, minimum age and, often, where the day starts. The sections below take each in turn, then compare the logistics.

Is The Class II-III Sarapiqui Family Float Right For Beginners?
Yes, by design. The Class II-III listings are the entry product on this river: 15 of the 31 trips on this site, priced from $60 per person, with total durations from 2.5 hours for the shortest listing to 10 hours for a San Jose round trip. The national rafting norm opens Class III water from age 8, though several listings set higher minimums, so the listed age on each product is the one that counts.
The family float is what most first-time paddlers book, and the roster shows why the price spread is wide. The budget end is the 3-hour Rafting Sarapiqui River Class II-III trip from La Virgen at from $60 per person, rated 5.0 from 59 reviews, which includes equipment, certified guides and a fruit-and-cookie snack but no stated meal. One step up, the Family Rafting Adventure from the Sarapiqui Outdoor Center base in La Virgen de Sarapiqui runs from $85 per person, rated 4.9 from 200 reviews, with lunch included, a stated minimum age of 6 and groups of up to 24 guests.
Those are different products from the same departure area, not versions of one trip. The cheaper listing trades the meal and the larger operation for a lower price; the Outdoor Center listing adds lockers, changing rooms, WiFi at the base and a tropical fruit and yucca snack on the river. Neither includes hotel pickup: both meet in La Virgen, and a van carries guests to the river and back, exactly as the listings state.
For readers comparing family options in more depth, the dedicated Class II-III family float guide breaks down every gentle-water listing, and the rafting with kids guide covers ages, kit and expectations. Beginners unsure about rapid classes generally can start with Costa Rica rapids classes explained.
| Class II-III listing (card name) | Price from | Total duration | Departs | Stated minimum age | Meal |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Family Rafting Class II-III, Meal | $85 per person | 3 hours | La Virgen | 6 | Lunch |
| Budget 3-Hour Rafting, No Meal | $60 per person | 3 hours | La Virgen | Check the listing | Not stated |
| 3-Hour Rafting, Mid Price | $79 per person | 3 hours | Chilamate | Check the listing | Not stated |
| Aguas Bravas Rafting, Pickup Included | $70 per person | 3 hours | Chilamate | Check the listing | Meal listed |
| Near Arenal Rafting, 8 Hours | $105.87 per person | 8 hours | La Fortuna | 7 | Lunch |
| Full-Day Rafting from San Jose | $105 per person | 10 hours | San Jose | Check the listing | Lunch |
The near-Arenal listing deserves a flag for families staying in La Fortuna: it is rated 5.0 from 101 reviews, caps groups at 15 guests, includes hotel transport and lunch, and states a minimum age of 7. That smaller group cap is the widest difference from the 24-to-36-guest trips nearer the river.
How Hard Is The Upper Sarapiqui Class III-IV Run?
The upper Jungle Run is the demanding product on this river: 10 listings, priced from $85 to $160 per person, with total durations of 3 to 8 hours. Verified comparisons describe it as more challenging than the Balsa River, requiring stronger and more continuous paddling. The national norm opens Class IV water from age 12, and several listings set 13, 14 or 15, so check the listing before booking teens in.
The entry point for most travelers is the featured listing on this site, the Sarapiqui River Extreme White Water Rafting Class IV trip from La Fortuna: 5.0 from 845 reviews, making it the most reviewed listing on the roster, from $85 per person for a 5-hour day with lunch, hotel transport for hotels within about 6 km of the operator's main office, fresh fruit, towels and bottled water. Groups run up to 50 guests, which is worth knowing if you want a smaller raft.
A differently shaped option is the Class 3-4 trip from La Fortuna run as a 6-hour day: 4.9 from 136 reviews, from $122.04 per person, groups capped at 25, hotel pickup and drop-off included, lunch and a local guide, with a stated minimum age of 15, one of the highest on the roster. Readers weighing that kind of step up should read the upper Sarapiqui rapids guide and, if the question is honestly about ability rather than logistics, can a beginner do Class 4 rapids.
The regulatory floor matters here. Costa Rica's national rafting norm, INTE G60-1:2019, sets minimum participant ages by rapid class and requires operators to supply and verify helmets and life jackets for every participant; the companion guide norm INTE G60-2:2019 requires guides to hold certification in rafting and swiftwater rescue with current first aid and CPR. Both norms are published by the national standards body INA. What the norms do not fix is operator-specific policy: minimum ages above the legal floor, weight limits and swimming-ability requirements are set listing by listing.
| Class III-IV listing (card name) | Price from | Total duration | Stated minimum age | Group cap | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Class IV from La Fortuna | $85 per person | 5 hours | Check the listing | 50 | 5.0, 845 reviews |
| Class III-IV Extreme, 3 Hours | $85 per person | 3 hours | 14 | 18 | 5.0, 108 reviews |
| Class 3-4 Rafting, 6 Hours | $122.04 per person | 6 hours | 15 | 25 | 4.9, 136 reviews |
| Class 4 Rafting, Lunch Included | $122.04 per person | 6 hours | Check the listing | 15 | 5.0, 29 reviews |
| Desafio Jungle Run, Class 3-4 | $123 per person | 8 hours | Check the listing | Not stated | 4.9, 29 reviews |
| Premium Class III-IV Day | $160 per person | 8 hours | 12 | Not stated | No rating on file |

Note the two extremes in that table. The premium 8-hour day includes Arenal Volcano National Park entry, food and drinks, which explains its price; the no-rating entries are not bad products, they simply have no review pool on file, and this site prints no rating where none is earned by data.
What Does Each Sarapiqui Trip Cost And What Is Included?
Across the roster, per-person prices run from $60 for the shortest Class II-III trip to $160 for the premium 8-hour Class III-IV day, and $556 per person for the 2-night package. Every listing states free cancellation. Meals appear only where the listing flags them, and hotel pickup only where the line says so; the rest is the operator's transport to and from the river, not from your hotel.
The honest way to compare cost is per inclusion, not per headline number. A $60 trip with no meal and no hotel transport and a $105.87 trip with lunch and La Fortuna hotel pickup are both fair prices for what they sell. The table that matters for budgeting is in the dedicated cost and inclusions guide, which also covers what is excluded everywhere: souvenir photos, which nearly every listing sells separately, and gratuities.
Gear is the one inclusion that is uniform: every rafting listing includes the safety equipment, helmet, life jacket and paddle, which is also the legal floor set by the national norm. What varies is everything around the water: towels, dry bags, changing rooms, WiFi, bottled water, coffee, and in one Chilamate listing's case, a CD with pictures and even tips included.
Tipping is worth a line because listings exclude it almost universally. Operators and travel sites commonly report US$5 to US$10 per person for a half-day group tour and US$10 to US$20 for a full day; that is a reported norm, not a rule, and the listing remains the authority on what the day itself costs.
Where Do The Different Sarapiqui Trips Depart From?
Listings depart from four areas: La Virgen de Sarapiqui, Chilamate, La Fortuna and San Jose, plus connection products that run between La Fortuna and San Jose with the rafting in the middle. The drive is about 1 hour 30 minutes from San Jose to the Sarapiqui area and about 1 hour to 1 hour 10 minutes from La Fortuna. Only listings that state hotel pickup include it.
Departure area is the most under-used filter on this roster, because it changes the shape of the whole day. A La Virgen departure means you are already at the river: meet at the operator base, and the listing states a van takes you to the water and back. A La Fortuna departure means the listing's total duration, 5 to 8 hours on most Class III-IV listings, includes the drive each way. A San Jose departure is a full-day commitment: the 10-hour Class II-III listing from San Jose at from $105 per person includes round-trip transport from selected hotels and lunch, and the connection listings turn the drive itself into the transfer.
The Chilamate listings split the difference. One, the Aguas Bravas trip at from $70 per person, rated 4.9 from 101 reviews, lets you meet at the Chilamate operation center, a 10-minute van ride from the river, or schedule pickup from a Sarapiqui hotel, with a fresh fruit buffet and lunch and drinks included. The other, from $79 per person, departs Chilamate with a snack included and lunch excluded, for groups of up to 36.
| Departure area | Listings | Typical duration impact | Hotel pickup on the listing |
|---|---|---|---|
| La Virgen de Sarapiqui | Family and extreme trips from the operator base | 3 to 5 hours total | Not included; van to the river is |
| Chilamate | Family rafting, 3 hours | 3 hours total | Stated on one listing, from Sarapiqui hotels |
| La Fortuna | Family, Class III-IV, floats | 5 to 8 hours total | Listed on most, often with a distance limit |
| San Jose | Full-day and connection trips | 8 to 10 hours total | Listed, selected hotels or set points |
Road conditions belong in any honest departure section. Route 32 through Braulio Carrillo is the main San Jose link, and it is repeatedly closed in the rainy season by landslides; local reporting documents the closures and the alternate routes. In high water, operators cancel or reroute trips, and no listing can promise a fixed day. Build a slack day into a San Jose itinerary if the rafting is the point of the trip.

Which Sarapiqui Trip Should You Book For Your Group?
Match the product to the weakest or youngest paddler, then to your base. Families with children under 12 belong on Class II-III listings or a wildlife float; confident paddlers 12 to 15 and over belong on the Class III-IV run, subject to each listing's own minimum age. Staying in La Fortuna favors the 5-to-8-hour listings with hotel pickup; staying near the river favors the short, cheap La Virgen and Chilamate trips.
Three worked examples cover most groups. A family of four with an 8-year-old in La Fortuna: the Near Arenal 8-hour listing, minimum age 7, hotel transport and lunch included, from $105.87 per person. A couple of experienced paddlers in La Fortuna wanting the biggest water: the featured Class IV listing, 5.0 from 845 reviews, from $85 per person, or the 6-hour Class 3-4 trip if a group cap of 25 and a minimum age of 15 fit better. Solo travelers or pairs on a budget already near the river: the $60 La Virgen 3-hour trip, 5.0 from 59 reviews.
Readers whose group includes non-paddlers, small children or wildlife-first travelers should not force a rafting fit at all. The wildlife safari float listings run gentle water with a naturalist's eye on the banks, and the Sarapiqui wildlife from the raft guide covers what operators and guests commonly report: sloths, monkeys, toucans, iguanas, caimans and aquatic birds, never promised, often delivered.
| Your group | Best-fit product | Example listing | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Family with kids 6 to 11 | Class II-III family rafting | Family Rafting Class II-III, Meal | Minimum age 6, lunch, 3 hours |
| Beginners wanting scenery | Wildlife safari float | 3-Hour Wildlife Safari Float | Minimum age 4, flat water |
| Confident paddlers 12 to 15 plus | Class III-IV run | Class IV from La Fortuna | Most reviewed, from $85 |
| Small-group seekers | Capped Class III-IV | Class 4 Rafting, Lunch Included | 15-guest cap, 6 hours |
| San Jose transit day | Connection trip | Class 3-4 from San Jose, Connection | Rafting between cities, lunch |
One last comparison point that readers ask about: the Sarapiqui against other Costa Rica rivers. The verified comparisons describe the Sarapiqui Class III-IV run as more demanding than the Balsa, and the Pacuare as more remote with a longer drive from La Fortuna. This site sells only Sarapiqui trips, and the Sarapiqui vs Pacuare and Sarapiqui vs Balsa guides cover that choice on the facts the sources support. For a first taste of what booking any of it involves, first-time rafting in Costa Rica walks through the day start to finish.

The short version: pick the class your group can honestly paddle, pick the departure that matches your bed for the night, and treat everything else, the meal, the towels, the photo CD, as tiebreakers. Every listing on Sarapiqui River Rafting carries free cancellation, so the cost of booking the wrong trip is low, and the cost of guessing at a rapid class is not.
Common Questions About Rio Sarapiqui Rafting Trips
What is the difference between the Sarapiqui float and the upper section?
Operators describe the family stretch as Class II-III at lower dry-season flows, rising to Class III in higher water, while the Jungle Run section is reported as Class III-IV and up to Class IV after heavy rain. The float suits beginners and children; the upper run demands continuous, stronger paddling. Wildlife safari floats are a third product with no whitewater at all.
How much does a Sarapiqui rafting trip cost?
Per-person prices on this roster run from $60 for a 3-hour Class II-III trip from La Virgen to $160 for a premium 8-hour Class III-IV day, with the 2-night package at $556 per person. Class III-IV listings start at $85 per person. Meals and hotel pickup appear only where the listing states them.
What is the minimum age for Sarapiqui rafting?
The national norm opens Class III water from age 8 and Class IV from age 12. Individual listings set their own minimums, from 6 on one family listing to 15 on one Class 3-4 trip. Where the roster shows no stated age, check the listing before booking.
Can beginners do the Class III-IV Sarapiqui run?
Many do, and the most reviewed listing on this river, 5.0 from 845 reviews, is a Class IV trip. But the run requires fit, confident paddling, and operators commonly list swimming ability and health restrictions. The honest answer for a nervous first-timer is the Class II-III float first.
Do Sarapiqui rafting trips include hotel pickup?
Only where the listing states it. La Virgen and Chilamate listings generally meet at an operator base with a van to the river; most La Fortuna and San Jose listings include hotel pickup, sometimes limited to hotels within a set radius. Check the listing for your hotel's area.
Is rafting on the Sarapiqui possible year-round?
Operators run trips in both the dry season, December to April, and the green season, May to November, on a rain-fed, undammed river. The trade-off is real: higher, more dynamic water in the green months, more predictable Class II-III flows in the dry months, and cancellations or reroutes when water gets too high. No trip runs regardless of conditions.