How Much Does A White Water Rafting Trip Cost In Costa Rica?
Real listing prices for white water rafting in Costa Rica, from a $60 budget half day on the Sarapiqui to a $335 private combo, with what each price band actually includes.
A white water rafting trip in Costa Rica does not have one price. On this site's roster of 31 bookable trips, the cheapest listing starts at $60 per person for a 3-hour shared Class II-III run, and the most expensive reaches $556 per person for a 2-night stay built around a Class III rafting day. In between sit family floats, Class III-IV adventure days and private combos, and the differences between them are not random. They track duration, departure city, transport and food almost exactly.
The cheapest firm-priced listing on the roster, the Rafting Sarapiqui River Class II-III Costa Rica trip, starts at $60 per person with a 5.0 rating from 59 reviews. The most reviewed listing, the Sarapiqui River Extreme White Water Rafting Class IV trip from La Fortuna, starts at $85 per person and carries 5.0 from 845 reviews. That gap of $25 buys a harder river, a longer total day and hotel transport, and understanding gaps like that one is the whole trick of reading Costa Rica rafting prices.
A shared half-day white water trip on the Sarapiqui costs from $60 to $105 per person depending on what is bundled in, a full-day Class III-IV trip runs from $85 to $160 per person, and multi-day or private products reach $335 per group or $556 per person. Every figure here comes from a real listing, not a market average.
That spread is the honest answer, and it is worth slowing down on why the spread exists at all. Costa Rica rafting prices are built from four blocks: the river time itself, the transport to reach the river, the food, and the group format. A 3-hour trip meeting at a river base with no meal and no hotel pickup will always undercut an 8-hour trip that collects you from a San Jose hotel, feeds you lunch and drops you in a different town.
The budget end is real and bookable, not a teaser. The Rafting Sarapiqui River Class II-III Costa Rica listing, a 3-hour shared trip departing La Virgen, sits at the bottom of the roster at from $60 per person, with equipment, certified guides, a snack of cookies and fruit, a towel and in-tour transport included. Hotel transport is excluded, so you meet the trip where it starts. At the top of the per-person scale, the From San Jose: Sarapiqui 2-Night Stay with Rafting product at $556 per person includes two nights of accommodation, most meals, a jungle night walk at La Tirimbina and a Class III rafting day, which is a package rather than a rafting ticket.
For a full breakdown by category rather than by listing, the guide to Sarapiqui rafting cost and inclusions works through the roster line by line.
What Do The Cheapest Listings Actually Include?
The $60 to $79 listings include rafting equipment, a certified guide and a snack, and typically exclude hotel transport, lunch and photos. Nothing in that band is a stripped-down unsafe product: the same national safety norms on guides and equipment apply at every price.
The budget band on this roster holds four listings. The $60 Rafting Sarapiqui River Class II-III trip includes all equipment, certified guides, the fruit and cookie snack, a towel and transport during the tour, and excludes transport from your hotel, photos and tips. The $70 Rafting Adventure at Rio Sarapiqui listing, a 4-hour shared trip rated 5.0 from 29 reviews, lists snacks as its main inclusion and does not state a meal. The $70 Aguas Bravas rafting trip from Chilamate, rated 4.9 from 101 reviews, is unusual for its band: it lists a fresh fruit buffet, lunch and drinks as included, with the picture CD and tips extra, with pickup from a Sarapiqui hotel schedulable. The $79 Sarapiqui River Rafting Tour Adventure from Chilamate, 5.0 from 26 reviews, includes the full equipment set, a safety kayaker, snacks and a towel, and lists lunch as an exclusion.

So the cheap band is not uniform, and the inclusions tell you where the money went. The thing every listing at every price does share is the regulatory floor: the national rafting norm requires operators to supply and verify helmets and life jackets for every participant, and guides must hold national certification in rafting and swiftwater rescue with current first aid and CPR under the companion guide competency norm. Those duties do not scale with price. A $60 trip and a $160 trip operate under the same equipment and certification rules.
What the cheap band leaves out is mostly logistics and food, and those are things you can price yourself. Lunch near the river is inexpensive in local terms. A hire car or a public bus to La Virgen replaces the hotel shuttle. The one exclusion worth pausing on is photos: on several listings souvenir photographs are a paid extra at the end of the trip, and that is a genuine cost decision rather than an inconvenience.
Why Do Prices Range From $60 To $335 Per Booking?
Because you are buying four separate things, and the roster prices each one: river time ($60 to $85 base), hotel transport (roughly $20 to $40 on top), meals (lunch appears from about $85 upward), and exclusivity, which is where the $335 per group private combo and the $556 per person package sit.
Here is the roster's price architecture as a table, using only firm listed prices.
| Price band | What sits in it | Roster examples |
|---|---|---|
| $60 to $79 per person | 3 to 4-hour shared Class II-III trips, snack included, meal often not stated, hotel transport usually excluded | $60 budget 3-hour run; $70 4-hour Rio Sarapiqui trip; $79 Chilamate trip |
| $85 to $105 per person | Half-day and full-day trips with lunch and, on several listings, hotel pickup | $85 family Class II-III with lunch; $85 Class IV from La Fortuna with pickup; $105.87 near-Arenal trip |
| $122.04 to $160 per person | 6 to 8-hour Class III-IV days, connection itineraries between cities, premium all-in days | $122.04 Class 3-4 from La Fortuna; $123 Desafio Jungle Run; $160 Faro Travel premium day |
| $335 per group / $556 per person | Private combo and 2-night packages | $335 private zipline and rafting; $556 two-night Sarapiqui stay |
The cents matter on some listings and they are printed exactly as listed: $92.66 for the afternoon Class 2-3 trip from La Fortuna with lunch, $122.04 for the 6-hour Class 3-4 trip from La Fortuna, and $105.87 for the near-Arenal Class II-III day. Operators price to the market and do not round for tidiness, which is a good signal that these are live listed prices rather than brochure numbers.
The private zipline and rafting combo at from $335 per group is the clearest example of paying for exclusivity. It is a 9-hour private day from San Jose with a naturalist guide just for your party, 9 cables and 11 platforms of zipline, 2 to 3 hours of Class II-III rafting, fruits, coffee and lunch, all in private transportation. Per person, a group of four brings that near the premium shared-day band, which is exactly the arithmetic private products hope you will do.
How Does Your Departure City Change The Price?
Trips meeting at a river base in La Virgen or Chilamate start lower, from $60 to $85, because you absorb the travel. Trips collecting from San Jose hotels run from $105 to $122, since the drive is about 1 hour 30 minutes each way, and La Fortuna departures from $85 to $122.04 with pickup.
The departure city is the single biggest price driver after the rapid class, and the roster shows it plainly. The full-day Class II-III trip from San Jose, with round-trip transport from selected San Jose hotels and a traditional lunch, starts at $105 per person. The same river, met locally as a 3-hour run, starts at $60. The roughly $45 difference is the bus, the driver and the longer day.
La Fortuna departures dominate the Class III-IV side because that is where most travelers doing an adventure day are based. The featured listing on this site, the Class IV trip from La Fortuna, includes hotel transport for hotels within about 6 km of the operator's main office, lunch, fruits, towels and bottled water, from $85 per person, with 5.0 from 845 reviews. Farther hotels are excluded from pickup, so the price you see assumes a central base.

There is also a smart hybrid format worth knowing: connection trips. The Class 2-3 rafting run from La Fortuna to San Jose, from $122.04 per person, and the Class 3-4 version at the same price, turn the drive between the two destinations into the rafting day itself, with hotel pickup and drop-off, lunch and an air-conditioned vehicle. You pay a full-day price but you were making that drive anyway, which is why these listings exist at all. The wider decision between the two rivers in the region is covered in the Sarapiqui versus Pacuare comparison, where drive time is a major factor.
What Extra Costs Add Up On The Day?
Budget for photos, tips and sometimes an extra pickup fee: souvenir photos are sold separately on many listings, tipping commonly runs $5 to $10 per person for a half-day group tour and $10 to $20 for a full day as reported by travel sites, and at least one La Fortuna listing charges extra for pickup from outlying hotels.
The sticker price is almost never the final spend, and the exclusions columns on the roster tell you where the extras hide. Photos and videos are the most common: they appear as paid extras on the family Class II-III trip, the budget $60 run, both La Virgen outdoor center trips and the wildlife safari float, where the listing itself names $35 as the additional photo price. Gratuities are listed as excluded on many listings too.
| Extra | Typical situation on the roster | Planning note |
|---|---|---|
| Souvenir photos | Sold separately on many listings, named at $35 extra on the safari float listing | Bring cash if you want them; not bookable as an inclusion |
| Gratuities | Listed as an exclusion on most trips | $5 to $10 per person half day, $10 to $20 full day, as operators and travel sites commonly report |
| Hotel pickup where excluded | La Virgen base trips state hotel pickup is excluded; one La Fortuna listing charges a fee for outlying hotels | Check the listing's transport terms before booking a remote hotel |
| Lunch where excluded | The $79 Chilamate listing names lunch as an exclusion | Cheap locally, but plan the stop |
| Alcoholic drinks | Listed at extra charge on a few connection trips | Optional |
The other honest extra is weather flexibility, which costs nothing if you book a listing with free cancellation listed. Every listing on this roster shows free cancellation. That matters here because the Sarapiqui is rain-fed and undammed: operators cancel or reroute in high water, and the drive from the Central Valley crosses Route 32, a road commonly closed by rainy-season landslides. The nationwide emergency number is 911, but the number that matters for your wallet is the cancellation policy, which on this roster is consistently favorable.
Is A Cheaper Tour A Worse Tour?
On this roster, no: the $60 trip holds a 5.0 rating from 59 reviews, the $70 Aguas Bravas trip 4.9 from 101 reviews, and the $85 Class IV trip 5.0 from 845 reviews. Price tracks duration and transport, while guest satisfaction stays high across the board, so buy the format you need rather than the highest number.
The ratings pattern across the roster is striking and it argues against assuming price equals quality. Every listing with enough reviews to print a rating sits at 4.0 or above, and the only 4.0 belongs to the full-day trip from San Jose, where a 10-hour day with two long drives is naturally harder to love than a crisp 3 hours on the water. The budget band's ratings are indistinguishable from the premium band's.
What actually separates listings is fit. Traveling with children? The family Class II-III trip states a listing minimum age of 6 and takes up to 24 guests, and the national norm allows ages 8 to 11 on Class I to III water, with operators free to set higher minimums. Chasing big water? The Class III-IV listings state minimum ages of 12 to 15, matching the norm's rule that Class IV water is legally open from age 12. The detailed age rules are laid out in the rafting age and weight limits guide, including the INTE G60-1:2019 table that operators must follow.

Where spending more does reliably buy something is comfort at the edges of the day. The premium $160 La Fortuna/Arenal Class III-IV day includes transport in an air-conditioned van, food and drinks, safety gear, a towel, tips and even entry to Arenal Volcano National Park. The Desafio Jungle Run at $123 includes hotel transport from La Fortuna or San Jose, a tropical fruit break and a typical meal. These are days designed so that you spend nothing further from pickup to drop-off.
Season is the last price consideration, though it works differently than in hotel pricing. If your heart is set on maximum whitewater, the green-season months from June to October are commonly described as the most dynamic, and the same listing price buys a bigger-water day. The timing question is examined in which month is best for white water rafting.
A quick word on how to read any price you see quoted elsewhere for Costa Rica rafting. Operator and travel sites commonly report half-day Class III trips around $70 and full-day Class III-IV around $130, with a common range of $85 to $105 once transport and lunch are bundled. Those market snapshots describe the same neighborhood this roster lives in, but the figure that matters is the one on the listing you actually book, with its inclusions and exclusions in writing. This is the approach Sarapiqui River Rafting takes throughout: every price on this page is a real listed price from a bookable trip, checked against the roster rather than averaged from a brochure.
Common Questions About White Water Rafting Trip Costs
How Much Does A White Water Rafting Trip Cost?
On this site's roster, from $60 per person for a shared 3-hour Class II-III half day to $160 per person for a premium all-in Class III-IV day, with multi-day packages at $556 per person and a private combo at $335 per group. Most travelers land between $60 and $122 per person depending on duration, departure city and inclusions.
How Much Does A White Water Rafting Trip Cost In Costa Rica?
In Costa Rica, specifically on the Sarapiqui listings compiled here, a shared half day starts at $60 per person, lunch-inclusive family trips start at $85, full-day Class III-IV trips with hotel transport run $85 to $160, and a two-night rafting package costs from $556 per person.
Why do rafting prices differ so much between listings?
Duration, departure city, transport and food. A trip meeting at the river base with no meal starts around $60; the same water with a San Jose hotel pickup, lunch and an 8-to-10-hour day costs $105 to $122. Rapid class matters less than you would expect, since the Class IV trips start at the same $85 as the family trips.
Is the cheapest rafting trip still safe?
The national technical norm applies to every commercial operator regardless of price: operators must supply and verify helmets and life jackets for all participants, and guides must hold national rafting and swiftwater rescue certification with current first aid and CPR. What cheap listings cut is transport, meals and photos, not the safety floor. Check the listing's own minimum age and health disclosures before booking.
What hidden costs should I budget for?
Souvenir photos, sold separately on many listings and named at $35 extra on the safari float listing; gratuities, commonly reported at $5 to $10 per person for a half day and $10 to $20 for a full day; and occasionally an extra pickup fee for outlying hotels on La Fortuna listings. Free cancellation is listed across this roster, so weather changes cost you nothing if you rebook.
Does rafting cost more in high season?
On this roster, listed prices do not move by month. What changes with season is the water: dry season December to April brings lower Class II-III flows, and green season May to November raises levels toward Class III-IV on the same sections for the same listed price. Book the green-season months from June to October if bigger water is the goal.